Search
  • Hues of Vintage

Blue Nile Diamonds Complaints – and Testing Blue Nile Myself

Here is a collection of Blue Nile diamonds complaints for the top 10 Blue Nile diamond engagement rings.

I chose the most negative reviews available for each of the following rings.

The below prices are for the setting only as the diamond is priced on application, for the specific diamond that you choose.

1. The Classic US$650:








John wrote on 11 August 2011: Rating: 3/5

Title: Acceptable

I went with the platinum six-prong solitaire setting b/c it was the only six-prong platinum setting available. I had heard that six-prong was the way to go b/c it holds the diamond more securely. It looks good; the diamond really stands out. However, it is pretty plain and I think if a slightly more elaborate or embellished six-prong platinum setting was offered by Blue Nile (in my price range, that is) I would've gone with that.

2. The Petite US$680:








Stephen M. wrote on 28 December 19: Rating: 3/5 Title: Excelent site and products, less convinced by the staff

The site makes ring and diamond shopping easy. The ring I received is excellent. The options for returning and resizing the ring is great to have and I trust they will follow through with such service. The staff (mainly experienced via the chat) were less convincing and provided very mixed experiences, from quite nice and reasonably helpful, to nice but less helpful and seemed to just say everything is nice rather than help steer me with useful advice, to feeling like pulling teeth to get answers to simple questions as they did not take the time to read and understand the questions before typing replies, and then the replies appeared quite rushed, which is frustrating after having spent a fortune on a ring with them.

3. The Micropave US$790:









Anonymous wrote on 17 June 2018: Rating: 4/5 Title: Thinnerband than we thought but

Thinnerband than we thought but still complimented the 2ct nicely. Yellow diamond cane out great.

4. The Four Claw USD$450:









Anonymous wrote on 16 April 2019: Rating: 3/5 Title: Exceptional customer service

I did not use the ring I purchased through Blue Nile because it did not looked that great. By looking at the picture online, I couldn't tell that the diamond was set high. I did not like how the ring looked with a high setting. I ended up returning the ring. The customer service was by far the best ever. I will be shopping for my fiance wedding band with Blue Nile. Thank you for the best customer service ever.

5. The French Pave US$1,250:









William M. wrote on 28 August 2019:

Rating: 4/5 Title: As described on website excepts

As described on website excepts seems smaller in real life.

Anonymous wrote on 23 May 2018: Rating: 4/5 Title: She loved it. Just upset it has taken so long to get it resized.

Very good

6. The Accent Diamonds US$690:








Evangelos K. wrote on 15 June 2019: Rating: 3/5 Title: Great Service and Diamond

I would have gone for 5 stars but unfortunately the ring had a scratch at the bottom that my fiancee saw while I didn’t. Diamond is great and the sales/aftersales teams too. I just have to go through the return process which is a bit painful to have that scratch polished.

Debbie on 13 August 2018: Rating: 4/5 Title: Love it

Band smaller than expected but overall gorgeous ring

7. The Cathedral US$410:









Antoine wrote on 12 June 2019: Rating: 3/5

Title: My engagement ring

I ordered online and had to follow after a couple of week because diamond was not available but no one called me. Once the diamond problem has been settled all went really smooth and the ring is as expected.

8. The Braid US$1,190:








Jordan A. wrote on 05 June 2019: Rating: 3/5 Title: The ring is beautiful and The ring is beautiful and the process was simple for ordering it. Love the packaging and choices available to me (and the price!). My only complaint would be the credit card process and lack of communication on their end. Had to go through a lot of work to get my credit card account verified and they ended up closing it without even telling me. Found another way to pay.

9. The Riviera US$1,290:








Xin wrote on 10 February 2017: Rating: 3/5 Title: Overall it's great looking. Prong is relatively big. I choose six prongs setting. One of the prongs is not symmetry.

10. The Classic Comfort Fit US$490:








Mark J. wrote on on 15 June 2019: Rating: 4/5 Title: Great diamonds

Easy to deal with, after a lot of work I ended up with a great diamond, better in my opinion than the height street shops but for a lot less. Take your time and you will get what you want.

My Personal Blue Nile Review:

My excitement was at an all time high, and I just couldn’t wait to open the UPS plastic sleeve that it was packaged in.

It was packaged safely in an outer box. This is the same box that you use in case you want to return any Blue Nile orders by the way.

It really is like a barboushka doll, as your excitement grows and grows with each layer. The Blue Nile larger box is made from a nice, sturdy cardboard. It feels nice and luxurious.

There is some sort of booklet when you open the first of the Blue Nile boxes. To be honest, I was so excited, I didn’t even look at it!

The boxes and the booklet was in excellent, untampered with condition.

And then the ring box is revealed. The box is made well and you would not need another box to propose. It feels nice and luxurious.

Underneath the box there is a jewelry pouch. Good if you are planning to propose on top of a mountain or in a remote location. Or to hide it until the day you pop the question if like me, your future fiance and wife is super hard to surprise and finds everything!

And then the moment of truth, the box flips up nicely and then the ring is revealed.

So there it was, the ring! My first thought... and always go by your first thought, is that ‚this ring is gorgeous’. As Blue Nile does not show real pictures of their jewelry on their website, it was such a pleasant surprise that this ring is a stunner.

The center stone is very beautiful and looks substantial on without being over the top. I would describe it as being a champagne color. It is as you see in the pictures. I could definitely imagine girls and colleagues swooning (being majorly jealous) over this ring!

The diamonds on the halo are dainty and accentuate the margonite center stone without overpowering it. The rose gold adds to the vintage look of this beautiful ring. And I have always wanted a rose gold ring!

I am a UK ring size L, which is equivalent to a size 6 in the US. I ordered this size and it fits me perfectly. The Blue Nile listing lists the measurement to be 8 x 8mm. It didn’t say if this was just the center stone or if this includes the diamond halo. I measured it and it is definitely just the center stone that is 8 x 8mm.

Could I imagine this ring as my engagement ring? Hell yeah! You will definitely catch yourself and other people staring at your ring, all the time!

My Blue Nile Return Experience:


As you know, Blue Nile has a no questions 30-day money back guarantee. I have personally tested this money back guarantee. It was actually very easy. Here is the actual ring that I purchased.

You just chat to a representative via the live chat button that is available on every page on the Blue Nile website. They will start the return process and you will be given a code and instructions via email immediately.

The representative can either organize a FedEx pick up (this was 40 Euros in my case being in Germany) or you can use the postal service in your country. For me this is Deutsche Post who works with DHL for parcels.

You receive your Blue Nile purchase in a UPS plastic parcel envelope, inside that is a brown box and inside the brown box is a Blue Nile branded white box. You just need to write the (RMA) code, that was provided to you by Blue Nile returns, on the brown box on the bottom left hand corner.

You need to make sure you send your item to the return address that Blue Nile returns has provided, along with the correct amount of insurance. For me, this cost me 30 Euros.

In exactly 8 days, Blue Nile sent me an email to say that the item had been received by their quality assurance team and they would review the return. On the same day, I got an email saying that the credit had been issued.

It is now 7 working days after the credit has been issued and I have received the funds into my credit card account.

So would I purchase an expensive piece of jewelry on Blue Nile? Yes!

I hope you found this Blue Nile diamond ring journey helpful.

Polly

Download the Ultimate Wedding Planner Guide for FREE!